With a history of habitation dating back to the 5th century BC, Tirilye was known as Brylleion in Greek. When southern Marmara became very popular for its local produce, Tirilye was one of the many integrated ports that were established in ancient times.
Tirilye was also quite famous for its olives, and the ancient Greek inhabitants were also engaged in the silk trade. The name Tirilye is said to come from the famous local red mullet fish, called Trigleia, which graced the tables of Byzantine emperors. After the population exchange between Greece and Turkey in 1923, the city’s Greeks left their homes and emigrated to Greece.
An important religious center for Greek Orthodox Christians, the Ottoman and Byzantine architecture of Tirilye is particularly fascinating, and it is quite an experience to walk the streets and contemplate the many beautiful facades.
With a population of 2,500, Tirilye is a perfect getaway for those looking for an idyllic weekend, discovering and following in the footsteps of different cultures. So what destinations can you visit in Tirilye? Where to visit for a good weekend? Here is a concise guide to Tirilye, the cutest town in Bursa.
Tirilye houses are usually made of wood and adobe and are mostly built as three story structures. The houses reflect Byzantine and Greek architecture. The ground floor is used as a foyer and olive store, and families spend most of the time here during the summer months. The second floor is the mezzanine. The ceilings on this floor are open. The third floor is reserved for living rooms and bedrooms with very high ceilings.
The seminary, which served as a primary school until the 1980s, was built in the neoclassical style in 1909. The school, where former Cypriot President Makarios III was educated, has been transformed into a school Darel Eytam to educate orphans and children. of the Martyrs by Kazım Karabekir in 1924. Today it is in ruins, as no preservation work has been done. It is surrounded by a wire mesh to prevent further damage.
Known as the Greek Hagios Ioannes Church (Yuannes Church) in the past, Dündar House is today referred to as the Stone Building, as the church was used as private property after the Greeks abandoned Tirilye. At the main entrance, which dates from the 19th century, a stone arched portal welcomes people. Look at the walls of the church to see the authentic Byzantine architecture, while the stone carved engravings and Byzantine patterns are eye-catching. The three-storey west facade of the house is now used as a residence.
Panagia Pantobasilissa Church or Kemerli Church is known as the first museum whose walls were painted in history. Some manuscripts indicate that the church is dedicated to the Virgin Mary. The garden of the ruined church is full of fig and plum trees. The paintings on the walls are damaged because they have been dilapidated, scratched and painted. The Greek Patriarchate Fener is said to have bought the church, which will be restored and used for rites a few times a year.
Medikion Monastery, also known as Saint Sergios Medikion Monastery, is located on the road leading to Eskel Port from Tirilye. There is a Greek cemetery northwest of the monastery. The monastery became known as the Medikion Monastery in the 11th century. It was probably built in the 8th century. All that remains are the walls and the magnificent entrance doors (200 kilos) of the monastery, which served as a farm when it was created.